

THE CARMEN'S AWARDS

The full listing of Awards presented

THE CARMEN'S AWARD OF MERIT

...recognises outstanding achievement in the United Kingdom or overseas in the sphere of transport by an individual or group.

It was founded in 1988 and comprises an engraved silver gilt medal and citation.

(Year* refers to year awarded. Awards are presented in March the following year, normally at the Mansion House)

Year*	Recipient	Citation
2015		NOT AWARDED
2014	DPD UK	For consistent and contemporary technical and user orientated innovations in world-wide parcel delivery.
2013	Mike Brown MVO	For the excellent work he and his London Underground team have done
2012	The Ealing Community Transport Charity	For the delivery of wheelchair accessible shuttle services at the Olympic and Paralympic Games 2012
2011	Chiltern Railways	For Phase One of its Evergreen 3 Development Project, upgrading the Marylebone- Birmingham main line
2010	The Variety Club of Great Britain	for the 5,000 th Variety Club Sunshine Coach to reach the road since 1962
2009	The Family of the late Ken and Lew Norris	the first Carman posthumous award, for fifty years of design achievement: record-breaking Bluebird cars and boats, automatic safety belts, go-karts, rotary motorcycle engine and lift trucks.
2008	13 Air Assault Regiment RLC	Planning, operating, fighting across 180 kms, delivering hydro-electric turbine to Kajaki Dam, Afghanistan
2007		NOT AWARDED
2006	Past Master John Ratcliff CBE	Outstanding services to transport and charity

Year*	Recipient	Citation
2005	Seymour Powell and Intelligent Energy	for the first practical application of miniaturised fuel cell technology to a motorcycle
2004	Liveryman Frank Shaw	
2003	Geoffrey Atkinson, OBE	For his 25 years work with the motor trades Benevolent Fund (BEN)
2002	Assistant RH Russett	For his vision in founding Palletline
2001	The Lord Strathcarron	For his services to the road transport industry
1999	Nick Scheele	Exceptional achievements at Jaguar Cars
2000	Dr Alexander Moulton, CBE	Design and development of innovative suspension systems
1998	Liveryman Graham Westcott	Outstanding services to Training in the Transport Industry
1997	Sqn Ldr Andy Green, OBE, RAF	Outstanding courage and ability in achieving supersonic speed on land
1995	Sir Peter Thompson	Outstanding services to the Transport Industry
1994	Sir John Fairclough	Outstanding leadership of the Engineering Profession
1992	Liveryman Sir James Duncan	Outstanding services to the Transport Industry
1991	David Martell	Development of Trafficmaster
1990	The Royal Mews	Restoration of the Irish State Coach
1989	Miss Ann Frye	Personal achievement in founding MAVIS and in transport for the disabled
1988	Jaguar Motors Ltd and Tom Walkinshaw Racing	Developing the car which won the 1988 Le Mans 24 Hour Race

